Idiot Prayer

A couple of weeks ago, I was invited by Louder Than War to review Nick Cave’s solo performance at that iconic venue, Alexandra Palace. It was an incredible privilege for me. I have been a fan of Cave since the Birthday Party, but this is the first opportunity I have had to review his work.

I had tickets for his gig with the Bad Seeds in May, but obviously that didn’t happen. This went some way to making up for that (but not entirely).

It streamed to the world last Thursday. I saw it beforehand, so I knew that it would take people’s breath away. You can read my thoughts in the link above, but if you want the abridged version…it was awesome.

Three things to call out for aficionados. Firstly, lots of surprises on the setlist, including Papa Won’t Leave You Henry and Sad Waters. Secondly, I was interested to see how the Ghosteen tracks would sound live. Galleon Ship was magnificent. Waiting For You, less so. Third, it was beautifully shot – like a Wim Wenders film. Kudos to Robbie Ryan.

Who could have though that one man and a grand piano on a pre-recorded stream could be so moving and so intimate?

If you missed it, I’m sorry. I genuinely hope that you will get the chance to see it again sometime.

(Photos by Joel Ryan)

By:


Leave a comment